Midlands is a province of Zimbabwe. It has an area of 49,166 square kilometres (18,983 sq mi) and a population of 1,614,941 (2012). Gweru is the capital of the province. It is home to various peoples. As a central point in Zimbabwe it has a blend of Shona , Ndebele , Tswana , Suthu, Chewa among various other languages spoken in Zimbabwe. It has the third largest city in Zimbabwe and that is Gweru, followed by Kwekwe, which is considerably the town with the richest industries in both mining and manufacturing with gold mines all-over and the Sable Chemicals Trust also maintaining a presence.


By natural distribution and placement the Midlands are geographically at the centre of the country. Fresh and clean water is pumped out to all the Constituencies. This is the area where bottled water may be just pleasure and not a necessity.

The great dyke runs through most of the province, thus making it the heart of zimbabwe's gold platinum and chrome. Several precious minerals besides feldspar, mica and quarts are embedded in the great Dyke. This makes the Province the heart of steelmaking and cement manufacturing and as bestoes etc.

Demography is the melting pot of the country All tribes are present. The Midlands therefore become a natural college of learning all languages.

Midlands Provinces is divided into 8 districts:

  1. Chirumhanzu
  2. Gokwe North
  3. Gokwe South
  4. Gweru
  5. Kwekwe
  6. Mberengwa
  7. Shurugwi
  8. Zvishavane.

The Provincial Administrator oversees all the 8 districts in the province, each district having its own district administrator. District Administrators work with local authorities in their respective districts. Local authorities have their own Chairmen (mayors for municipalities). These urban councils were established in accordance with the Zimbabwe Urban Councils Act, Chapter 29.15 while rural district councils were created in terms of the Zimbabwe Rural District Councils Act, Chapter 29.13

Of the 8 districts Gokwe South , Gweru , Gweru ,Shurugwi and Zvishavane have two local government administrative authorities; the Urban District Council (town council or municipality) and the Rural District Council. Chirumhanzu , Gokwe North and Mberengwa districts have no urban councils.

Rural councils

The 8 rural district councils in all 8 subdivisions:

  • Gokwe North RDC in Gokwe North
  • Gokwe South RDC in Gokwe South
  • Mberengwa RDC in Mberengwa
  • Runde RDC in Zvishavane
  • Tongogara RDC in Shurungwi
  • Takawira RDC in Chirumhanzu
  • Vungu RDC in Gweru
  • Zibagwe RDC in Kwekwe

Urban councils

City Councils in the province are Gweru and Kwekwe municipalities.

Town Councils are Shurugwi , Zvishavane and Gokwe.

The Capital of the Province- Gweru enjoys a cold climate with sun shine bursts becoming a pleasure to enjoy in the summer. The people are tolerant, peaceful and mix and mingle very well. Incidences of violence during General Elections are confined to only one area Mberengwa. But gradually this culture is fast becoming unpopular. The people thereat being affected by the General progressive peaceful blood pumped our to all the arteries of the Midlands Province from the Capital City of Progress Gweru.